#CWNYC – the count down is on. Join me?

DISCLAIMER: the statements herein, however opinionated or fact based, are mine alone, and do not represent the Province of BC.

A few months ago I finished my work day, hopped on my bike, and cycled madly in the rain. Breathing the fresh, moist air, my cranial neurons fired brightly as they usually do when I am immersed or near water… “I need to go to New York City” I thought. I’m not sure why, how I’ll afford it, or exactly what I’ll do there, but it just makes sense.

September 22, 2014 is the start of climate week in NYC (#CWNYC). I was first made aware of this event a couple years ago while working on intergovernmental relations for the Province of BC. The Climate Group is a fantastic organization that works with sub national governments and business leaders to create a peer network of those working to address climate change.

If I’m going to get a chance to see the big apple before it is diked up or sunk, and I’m going to contribute carbon doing so, it makes sense that I would go during this week. Now, my task is to make it most worthwhile…

Celebrating #SustyBC while at #CWNYC

My home province is brimming with brilliant and dedicated people that are delivering a variety of climate solutions. Many of these made possible by provincial policies, many others simply amplified by the climate action hero identity we assumed when we launched the climate action plan.

While in New York, I hope to be immersed in the “what do we do” dialogue. I get really jazzed talking about solutions, especially when I have real world examples to point to… of which we have many in BC.

Sharing #CWNYC with BC

As great as British Columbians are at realizing the value of low carbon development, we are kind of hard on ourselves. We expect more and better. However, it never fails: when someone from outside of BC hears what we are up to, it almost always earns a double take.

“What? You have a carbon tax? Like for real. There is a price on carbon and people are paying it? And your economy is doing just fine? No way…”

“Carbon Neutral? Schools and hospitals are investing in carbon reduction and saving tonnes of money… that totally makes sense. Why aren’t we doing that?!”

The best part of sharing with outsiders is capturing their reaction and sharing it back home. We live in a bit of a bubble on the coast… it’s nice to see through it sometimes.

Follow along, and join me!

I’m still ironing out how I’m going to document this all, but I’ll be sharing my adventure as it unfolds. You can expect a pragmatic, at times sassy, and perhaps even musical array of stories.

If you are going to #CWNYC, let me know!

To be continued…

Countdown Clock

 

3 thoughts on “#CWNYC – the count down is on. Join me?

Share your 2 cents