Episode 2 of my #CWNYC Video Blog: “Hacking”

The Climate Reality Project
Bringing the world together to cut carbon pollution & create a healthy & prosperous future powered by clean energy.

Like many national governments have done on climate change, I proclaimed a goal and have been struggling to meet it.

I said I would video blog my experience leading up to and at Climate Week in NYC. Frankly, other stuff has been getting in the way:

  • my day job,
  • chores,
  • gardening, camping, hiking, cycling and other prescribed doses of nature,
  • visiting family and friends, etc.

So I have priorities. Like national governments, plainly there are other things the citizenry requires/expects.

Secondly, video blogging is a risk. I’m exposing more vulnerability than I would be in pure text. Who knows, the perspective that I am a completely normal person may be way off. People could lash out. As a result, I could require gobs of counselling, and that is costly.

Like national governments, climate action brings some risk. It is a new frontier that does leave some elements of future success in the hands of others, namely business and citizens. Financial and political sustainability are on the table, and could spoil if people aren’t enticed to at least nibble the goods.

So, like, I feel for them.

“Hacking”

The title of my most recent vlog is “Hacking” for a few reason’s. Two will be apparent in the vid:

  1. I hacked off my hair (and learned something new).
  2. I’m collaborating on the global Geeklist #Hack4good hackathon leading up to Climate Week NYC (You can participate too!).

The third reason is that I hacked this video together. But you know what? I got the job done. 

It took an ounce of courage, but mostly, it took multitasking (I won’t spoil it for you here, you’ll have to watch!)

This speaks to a big lesson in public policy, especially on climate change: people need to see extra value in stuff that is hard to do. Layers are helpful. They soften the blow. (Like making a carbon tax revenue neutral.)

And beyond that, we can’t expect to get things perfect first off. We need to build in forgiveness.

(That’s my pitch for you to be forgiving of my amateur video blogger skills…)

PS: Some links I reference in the vlog:

 

Share your 2 cents