Climate Week NYC… and that moment when your digital thing crashes… #CWNYC

One of the reasons why I invested in an iPad mini was to support recording and reporting on my trip to Climate Week in New York City. I captured many ideas, some images and had about three blogs worth of drafts just about ready to go…

I’m not sure exactly why I decided to install iOS 8.02 this morning. I suppose because it worked fine on my iPhone (which had most of my images and video and was backed up on dropbox) I figured the other device wouldn’t complain.

Long, curse-word-filled story short, my iPad restored to factory settings and the backup failed to restore my content.

A lesson beyond double backup procedures

Maybe this is a bit of a gift in disguise? More likely, I am trying to find the silver lining. Either way, there is something to be said for being stripped naked of an over abundance of content on a topic I tend to ramble on…

Now that I have sunk more time than I hoped into this endeavor, I’m prone to be brief. As such, I’m going to focus on only the bits I feel are most important. This is good practice for a habit I should work on anyway…

And now that I think about it, it is a good analogy for what we collectively need in western culture: a reboot.

Over abundance of materials, information and convenience has lead us astray. We value things and experiences that oddly, often detract from our lives or broader society. No shortage of clever marketing has brought us:

  • Closer together as family members because we all have shared connectivity on our devices… so that we can escape and connect to the frivolous outside world.
  • Dramatic, real life experiences on TV screens, which prevent us from having dramatic real life experiences.
  • A commitment to renewing one’s wardrobe twice a year given ever important trends.

These examples represent only a sample of the distractions and clutter in our lives.

Less feathers, more chicken, please.

Good Company

You should also know, that while I feel obliged to apologize for not delivering prime content in a timely fashion, there is no shortage of excellent content for me to share. In fact, my strength may not even be in capturing the content. I do hope I provide a service in sharing and interpreting it at least…

#CWNYC was well documented, and here are some of the best sources I know of to date:

What did it feel like to be at the People’s Climate March? Zach Embree masterfully captures the buzzing feeling at a historic moment.

And what was this moment all about? Where I was located in the march, hopeful Canadians were calling on Canada like this:

And just in case you missed it, Mr. Dicaprio took the message from the marchers to the UN:

Stories untold

I do believe I still have a story or two to tell you from that incredible week. I experienced a wide range of interactions that illuminated for me both the challenge and the opportunity of climate action. Stay tuned. And please make sure your devices are backing up.

HB

Share your 2 cents